Questionable Theology

Standard

But oh, what sweet words!

One night before bed, Sissy confessed that she was afraid that she might die in her sleep during the night. I had that fear when I was young as well. While encouraging her that it was not likely, I reminded her that if she did in fact die, she’d be in heaven with Jesus! I also recited the little poem I prayed as a child: “Now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep. If I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take.”

This darling daughter of mine threw her delicate arms firmly around my neck and exclaimed, “But Mama! I love you so much! I don’t ever want to leave you!!!” I attempted to soothe her by reminding her, “Baby, however happy you feel with me – it will be so much better in heaven!” While hugging me tightly, I hear these words cross her lips: “Mom, you’re my heaven!”

Leave a Reply

